This will only be a quick update about my essay, specifically towards what game to research and why.


The ‘Control’ Game to research

In my last two blog posts I spoke about having one game to research which was simply named the ‘Control’ Game until I decided what one to use.

Previously I stated I would use the most commonly mentioned game in my final questionnaire results from which my play testers recommended. However, I then remembered that my dissertation was designed with the games ‘Gears of War’ [1] and ‘Hotdogs, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades’ [2] in mind.


Why Gears of War?

Gears of War uses a reloading system which is different to most first-person shooters, allowing the player the choice to get a speed boost or power boost [3]. With the other games my play testers mentioned, none of them used a reload system like this and would more be where the player just waits for the animation to finish to reload the gun.

A demonstration of the reload system in Gears of War is shown below:

here-s-the-easiest-way-to-get-active-reload-every-time-in-gears-of-war-4.jpg
Figure 1: A demonstration of the reload system in Gears of War. Where the player tries to stop the white line into the bars for either a speed or power boost.

Why Hotdogs, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades?

Hotdogs, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades requires the players to reload the guns using VR controllers. This is a big step up from the usual methods of reloading and is what I want to achieve for my dissertation, however doing the reloading by keyboard.

A demonstration of reloading in Hotdogs, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades is shown below:

Hot Dogs, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades Review (3).jpg
Figure 2: Player reloading a double barreled shotgun. Players must reload the gun themselves which is close to how the gun really reloads in real life.

 


What next?

So for my essay I have decided to talk about the two games which I researched at the beginning of my dissertation rather than to go with what the play testers recommended. This is due to how the two games relate more to my dissertation title revolved about making an engaging reloading system.


References

[2] – LTD., R. (2017). Hot Dogs, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades. [online] H3vr.com. Available at: http://h3vr.com/ [Accessed 2 May 2017].

[3] – McDonnell, K. (2016). The Easiest Way to Get Active Reload Every Time In Gears of War 4. [online] Nowloading.co. Available at: https://nowloading.co/p/gears-of-war-4-active-reload/4121191 [Accessed 2 May 2017].

[1] – The Coalition (2017). Gears of War – Official Site. [online] Gearsofwar.com. Available at: https://gearsofwar.com/en-us [Accessed 2 May 2017].

